Home > Uncategorized > A stroll down amnesia lane.

A stroll down amnesia lane.

I was recently invited by a friend to visit a meeting of the referral marketing group he belongs to. A speaker at the meeting mentioned an encounter with an Amway-type fellow that was so forward that it made him very uncomfortable; he called it scorched earth marketing.

This took me on a stroll down amnesia lane…

Once, I had a similar experience in a shopping mall food court in Victoria. I was trying to enjoy my coffee when this fellow started talking to me about “making money.” I just couldn’t bring myself to tell him what I was thinking; that he should die in a fire. Being polite and not interrupting cost me twenty minutes of my life that I will never get back.

The second time happened to my roommate in Vancouver. He was approached while riding the bus to work. This fellow had suggested coming over to our place that evening to talk about it in detail; my friend said sure.

My friend’s intent was to waste the guy’s time and I stayed in to join in the fun. When he came over and we kept asking dumb questions and running the conversation in circles until he became frustrated and left. He said that he’d call us but never did; funny that.

If I get the chance to do it again, and have the time, I might. I’m sure it qualifies as building strife but it’s too much fun

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 27, 2009 at 2:03 AM

    Being polite is overrated… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

