Home > Uncategorized > A new blog post(actually only 60% new content)

A new blog post(actually only 60% new content)

I was reading in an online forum about a fellow’s mishap with the battery on his tractor; oversight and a little hydrogen gas conspired to complicate his day. Below is a portion of the comment I left on that forum that I consider one whale of a cautionary tale.

There’s an old legend, back in the village where I grew up, about a fisherman who made a nice little explosion down at the wharf while charging his boat’s dead battery bank. He wanted to take a look at the terminals while it was charging but it was dark, so he used his cigarette lighter. He wasn’t seriously hurt, but the incident earned him the nicname Die Hard; after the battery brand.

Different people are motivated by different things. For many people, including myself, the threat of humiliation works very well. In addition to the normal health and safety concerns, the fear of pulling a, “Die Hard,” makes me careful when charging or using improvised methods with batteries.

Behind every cautionary tale is some guy responsible for the situation that spawned it… Maybe sometime I’ll write about why there was a period in my life when I was called Lug Nut. For now, let’s just say that I was a kid, and that it has made me much more thorough in my work.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

