Home > Uncategorized > Being snide.

Being snide.

I always chuckle when I hear a mention of NASA’s shuttles or the ISS and somebody feels the need to pipe in that, “we made that robotic arm!” I can almost imagine a news anchor saying that the Canadarm went up on a mission…and brought along the shuttle too…

Once I was eaves-dropping on a nearby conversation while riding the ferry to Vancouver and heard someone say that the first feet on the moon were actually Canadian, because the feet on the Apollo lander were made in Montreal!

I don’t know if that’s true, and I don’t care. I wanted to tell them that there’s nothing wrong with being proud of the smallest contribution to a big project but there was no need to be snide about it or inflate its significance; trust me, they sounded snide. Like I said, I wanted to tell them….but I’m too pretentious to admit that I was listening in on their conversation.

It reminded me of a dishwasher who told me that without him, the restaurant couldn’t run. I corrected him: The restaurant couldn’t run without clean dishes but without him, they’d hire another dishwasher.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

