Home > Uncategorized > Dollar stores, oil-water separators and the tanking economy.

Dollar stores, oil-water separators and the tanking economy.

Today I was in a dollar store and saw a roll of mesh intended to keep leaves out of your gutters but admit water. I was reading over the labels to see what it was made of since I’m looking for a cheap supply of oleophilic plastic suitable to use as a coalescing media for a little oil-water separator. Imagine my surprise to see it was made in Canada.

My understanding was that containerized shipping is so inexpensive that for little things like this, shipping costs on a per-item basis were insignificant; one of the driving forces behind industrial globalization. With that in mind, I joked to my wife that maybe things over here are now bad enough that we can undercut Chinese manufacturers.

Don’t send any comments about ignoring the complexities of international trade, manufacturing, or what have you….what I’m doing here is called being glib.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

