Home > Uncategorized > Funny joke or horrible discrimination?

Funny joke or horrible discrimination?

Seeing an article about atheists in the US Army took me on a stroll down amnesia lane:

I remember standing in ranks one Sunday morning while on course and our instructor said that there would be a Christian service and  had those who wished to attend fall out.

After the Christians fell out, our instructor said that there was actually no Sunday service and we would all be proceeding to our class.  He then expressed his disappointment to the  “pagans”, had them fall out as well  and everybody headed to the trucks.

Having recounted this, I have to say that the instructor is one of the most admirable men I have had the pleasure of knowing and can say with total certainty that he was just having a laugh and wouldn’t discriminate on any criterion other than the quality of one’s work.

Comment on this:  Guess which group I was in and why.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Janet Watt
    April 3, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    I am sure you were in the pagan group…. And that is because you are Ethiopian Orthodox…. LOL

  2. April 4, 2011 at 12:57 AM

    Wrong!

  3. Ed Zwart
    April 4, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    I would have guessed you were in the Christian group, and ascribed it to a terrestrial version of Pascal’s wager.

  4. April 4, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    You had half of it, Ed. My cousin Kory nailed it in a Facebook comment: I was in the Christian group and it was to get out of work.

    I needed to look up Pascal’s wager. We’ll call my situation Cameron’s Commutation: Sitting and listening to a sermon because it’s easier than running a goon spoon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

