Home > Uncategorized > Guilt by association.

Guilt by association.

I was once drinking on a base where a temporary bar was set up in a
classroom that only had one bathroom. Since there were male and
female personnel, the procedure was to lock the bathroom door while
using it so that no member of the opposite sex could walk in. I do
remember the four females present saying that since there was a
locking toilet stall, they were fine with us using the urinal at the
same time….

….an hour or two and about a gallon of beer later I wobbled up to
the bathroom door where a fellow was pounding on the bathroom door and
cussing. I asked what the problem was and he said that there was one
person in the bathroom who had locked the door and it was a crime
since there was a toilet, urinal and sink; ample facilities for three
men to pee at once.

The irate man with a full bladder thumped on the door a few more times
then said that he was just going to go pee outside. I didn’t think
anything of it and waited quietly at the door by myself until the sole
occupant came out; the sole occupant being a former Airborne RSM! I
was the recipient of a glare that could kill and a stern talking-to
about proper behavior and how one should lock the bathroom door when
there is mixed company and a single bathroom; somewhere in there might
have been a threat to spill my guts on the floor right where I stood.

It was like my later encounter with a policeman in Delft where the
tension could kill me. This man had no way of knowing that I wasn’t
the fellow pounding on the bathroom door and any protest on my part
would have come across as lame excuse making and make it worse so I
just took it and quietly prayed for anything to end this situation; I
would have been quite happy if the roof colapsed and killed me at that
moment.

Next time I’ll just go pee in the bushes outside.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

