Home > Uncategorized > A bit of a rant.

A bit of a rant.

“Yeah, of course…it’s what I live for…fixing other people’s $h!t for free.”

-Sarcastic Amish guy.

Brother, you said it.

I was thinking about this when a prospective customer was surprised at what I was going to charge him to pressure wash his driveway and patios.  He figured that a fellow doing this would be paid $20/hour and he’s right.  The problem is that he’s only considering paying the man.

Who pays for insurance or maintenance and depreciation costs on tools and vehicles?  There’s the time getting the equipment from my shop to his home and back again.  Shouldn’t I, or the man I hire, be paid for doing this?  Because $20/hour is what he’ll make off me and that leaves no money for my costs.  I’d love to be able to do things for free but I have a family and bills of my own so I’ll leave administrating welfare to the provincial government.

You pay an employee a little to perform a task and you pay a contractor to deal with everything required.  That prospective customer wants a contractor at employee prices and he either doesn’t see the extra cost behind the scenes that’s needed to make a basic cleaning job happen or he does but wants it for free; either ignorant or dishonest.  So he wants a fellow to work for him for $20/hour and only pay him while on site and he’ll probably find one.  Paying a lot for something doesn’t guarantee quality but paying less guarantees problems; let’s hope the $20/hour option has insurance in case he falls; that he has a large enough machine to get the job done in a timely manner.

In spite of this rant I’m not angry that he’s going with someone cheaper; I’d rather not spend my time working hard to break even.  I’ve never lost money on a job I didn’t accept and I’ll spend that time searching for better customers.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

