Home > Uncategorized > I’m a man from Nootka Sound…and maybe a little bit of a crank too.

I’m a man from Nootka Sound…and maybe a little bit of a crank too.

I’m known to be a bit of a cheapskate who happens to have a Scottish name and every now and then somebody puts the two together and says something tasteless about my ethnicity and thrift going hand-in-hand.  Sometimes I ask them if they’d verbalize that thought if my name was Shlomo.

The most recent incident happened this week but this time I steered the conversation another way and explained that I feel little affinity with the Scots; at least no more than with any other people.  I have traveled to Scotland but the only reason was to see and ride a motorized boat lift.

The exchange made me draw parallels and wonder if the self-loathing Scot is a widely acknowledged archetype. 😉

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

