Home > Uncategorized > Bill 62

Bill 62

There has been a lot in the news about Quebec’s new law about face coverings.  Most of the commentary is from Muslim women who are crying foul about being forced to be immodest.   Because of this my commentary relates to them.

\First let me be clear:  I think the law is wrong.  I don’t like the state telling people what they can and can’t wear.

If you want to cover up for the sake of modesty then I have no problem with that.  Ask yourself this:  If you’re ever detained by police and they make you wait for a female officer to come and confirm your identity just remember those officers are respecting your modesty.  Being honoured is not always convenient.

If you simply don’t feel like having men look at you then that is fine with me.  I think your wishes should be followed but don’t expect them to be accepted as normal.  Commonality is a big criterion in defining normalcy; not wanting members of the opposite sex to see your face is not very common around these parts.

One commentator really made my eyes roll when she said that religious laws as the reason for covering up. Modesty is the law; interpret that how you will.  Ask yourself this:  Are you allowed to cover yourself like this on the Hajj?  Do you complain about the libertine Saudi policy too?  Why is Quebec being held to a stricter standard?

Here’s a final thought on modesty:  I love my woman and women in general.  When one of you is showing off your figure I may sneak a peek to admire it but it takes a moment then I carry on with my day.  When you cover it all up it makes me think about it a little longer…  I wonder what I’m missing out on seeing.  Sometimes showing less is showing more.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment