Home > Uncategorized > A note to prospective employers: It’s SOCIAL media.

A note to prospective employers: It’s SOCIAL media.

I saw some activity on my blog and social media that I suspect might be related to a job in Alberta I am applying for and I started thinking about stories where people have gotten in trouble at work because of what they posted on Facebook.  Usually it involves getting caught playing hooky, showing highlights of an alcoholic bender or playing sports while supposedly disabled.  I wondered about simpler things that aren’t especially damning but might rub some folks the wrong way.  Let’s look at my own banner and profile pictures:

banner

Taste?  Questionable at best.

Misrepresentation?  Yes, but one that couldn’t be believed; it might as well be a picture of Johnny Cash or a cat.  You should be able to figure out that I’m not a famous Russian baritone singer and probably not involved in Lucha Libre.

Irreverent?  Yes.  You should pray for a sense of humour.

Professional?  No.  This is not my professional web presence; you’ll find that over at LinkedIn.  I would repeat anything I have posted on Facebook or this blog in the lunch room but not necessarily in the office; it’s called compartmentalization.

If you’re here to research me specifically then feel free to judge.  If you don’t accept my arguement for what I post on social media, simply don’t care about the tone of this blog post, or have ANY doubt about what you see then don’t waste another second considering my application.  I’m clearly not your ideal candidate and you’re clearly not my ideal employer.  Nobody’s time will be wasted and we’ll both eventually get what we want.

I actually already have a great employer and that’s why I can play hard to get.  The only thing wrong with them is that they’re not in Southern Alberta.

Having only 21 “friends” is another issue.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Janet
    December 6, 2014 at 12:11 PM

    I think the same can be said about having everyone that you have never met as a friend on your fb…. It’s questionable. I met someone who has hundreds of “friends”, yet has never met a single one in person.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment